Fri, 6 Nov 2026
Cars & Reviews

Tesla Model Y vs Volvo EX40: Price, Range and Cost per Mile in the UK

The Volvo EX40 Core is cheaper to buy and goes further on a charge than the entry Model Y. The Tesla is roomier and uses less electricity per mile. We set out the numbers.

A white right-hand-drive Tesla Model Y and a grey Volvo EX40 parked side by side on a residential driveway in an English suburb on an overcast autumn day
A white right-hand-drive Tesla Model Y and a grey Volvo EX40 parked side by side on a residential driveway in an English suburb on an overcast autumn day. Image: EV Compared (AI-generated)

Quick answers

  • The entry Tesla Model Y was listed at £44,990 in November 2026 by Carwow and Autotrader, while Carwow listed the Volvo EX40 Core Extended Range from £43,860, so the Volvo is £1,130 cheaper before discounts.
  • The EX40 Core Extended Range has a WLTP range of up to 356 miles from an 82 kWh battery, against 314 miles for the entry Model Y, so the cheaper car also goes further on paper.
  • On EV Compared's numbers the Model Y costs about 1.8p a mile to charge at 8p/kWh at home against 2.4p for the EX40, using the lower end of Carwow's efficiency claims (4.4 and 3.4 miles per kWh).
  • With 80% of charging at home on 8p/kWh and 20% on public rapid chargers at 79p/kWh, the Model Y costs about £505 per 10,000 miles to charge and the EX40 about £653, a gap of £148.
  • The Model Y has a much bigger boot, 854 litres to the roof and 2,118 litres with the seats folded, against 410 and 1,400 litres for the EX40, which also has a 30-litre front storage box.
  • Both cars pay 4% benefit-in-kind in 2026/27, which works out at about £60 a month for a 40% taxpayer in the Model Y and £58 in the EX40 Core.
  • The EX40 Core peaks at 205 kW and Volvo claims a 10 to 80% charge in 28 minutes; the entry Model Y peaks at 175 kW.

The Tesla Model Y is the better buy for families who need space and want the lowest running costs. The Volvo EX40 is cheaper to buy at entry level, goes further on a charge than the entry Model Y, and suits buyers who want a smaller SUV with a more conventional cabin.

Both cars sit in the same price bracket, but they are different sizes. The EX40 is the electric version of the compact SUV Volvo previously sold as the XC40 Recharge, while the Model Y is a larger family SUV. Here is how they compare on price, range, space, tax and our own cost per mile figures.

How much do the Model Y and EX40 cost in the UK?

The entry Model Y was listed at £44,990 in November 2026 by Carwow and Autotrader, up from the £41,990 it launched at in December 2025. The Model Y Premium Long Range RWD was listed from £49,990 by Carwow. Our page on current Tesla Model Y prices has the full list.

Carwow listed the Volvo EX40 Core Extended Range from £43,860 in November 2026, with the Extended Range Plus from £48,860 and the Extended Range Ultra from £52,860. Carwow also showed EX40 deals from £39,610, so the Volvo is open to discounting in a way the Tesla, sold at fixed prices online, is not.

Tesla Model Y (entry RWD)Tesla Model Y Premium LR RWDVolvo EX40 Core Extended Range
UK list price (Nov 2026)£44,990£49,990£43,860
Battery63 kWhNot disclosed82 kWh
WLTP range314 miles383 miles356 miles
Claimed efficiency4.4 to 4.6 mi/kWhNot stated3.4 to 3.6 mi/kWh (range-wide)
Peak DC charging175 kW250 kW205 kW
0 to 62 mphUnder 7 sec (0 to 60)Not stated7.3 sec
Boot, seats up / folded854 / 2,118 litres854 / 2,118 litres410 / 1,400 litres
BIK rate 2026/274%4%4%

Sources: Carwow, Auto Express, Autotrader and electrive, as listed below. Tesla does not publish the battery size for the Premium.

Which costs less per mile to run?

The Model Y costs less per mile because it uses less electricity. Carwow quotes 4.4 to 4.6 miles per kWh for the entry Model Y and 3.4 to 3.6 miles per kWh across the EX40 range. We used the lower end of each claim.

EV Compared calculation: cost per mile = price per kWh ÷ miles per kWh (Model Y 4.4, EX40 3.4), multiplied by 10,000 for the annual figure.

Charging atPrice per kWhModel Y per mileEX40 per mileModel Y per 10,000 milesEX40 per 10,000 miles
Home off-peak8p1.8p2.4p£182£235
Home at price cap26.32p6.0p7.7p£598£774
Public rapid79p18.0p23.2p£1,795£2,324
80% home off-peak, 20% rapidMixed5.0p6.5p£505£653

The inputs are an 8p/kWh home off-peak rate from our methodology, the 26.32p/kWh price cap rate for October to December 2026, and Zapmap’s September 2026 rapid charging average of 79p/kWh. Intelligent Octopus Go now charges 6.5p/kWh off-peak, which would cut the home figures to about 1.5p a mile for the Model Y and 1.9p for the EX40.

If you charge almost entirely at home overnight, the gap is small: £53 per 10,000 miles. It grows when you rely on public chargers. A driver who does a fifth of their charging on rapid chargers saves about £148 per 10,000 miles in the Tesla, and someone without a driveway who uses rapid chargers for everything saves about £529. Our guide to what it costs to charge a Tesla covers Supercharger pricing as well as home tariffs.

Which has more range?

The EX40 Core Extended Range goes further than the entry Model Y: up to 356 miles WLTP from its 82 kWh battery, according to Auto Express, against 314 miles for the entry Tesla. That makes the Volvo the better value per mile of range at entry level. On EV Compared’s numbers (list price ÷ WLTP miles), the EX40 Core costs about £123 per mile of range, the entry Model Y £143 and the Model Y Premium Long Range RWD £131.

The Model Y Premium Long Range RWD, rated at 383 miles by electrive, is the longest-range car here, but it costs £6,130 more than the EX40 Core.

The EX40 gets its range from a bigger battery, not from efficiency, so each full charge costs more. Auto Express also notes that the Core trim has no heat pump, so it loses more range in cold weather than the better-equipped versions. See how much range EVs lose in winter before you rely on WLTP figures for a January motorway trip.

Which charges faster?

The EX40 Extended Range has the higher peak charging speed, at 205 kW, and Volvo claims a 10 to 80% charge in 28 minutes. The entry Model Y peaks at 175 kW, which Auto Express says adds up to 162 miles in 15 minutes. The Model Y Premium peaks at 250 kW.

Peak speed is only part of the picture. The Model Y can use every Tesla Supercharger, while the EX40 uses CCS chargers on any public network, including the Supercharger sites Tesla has opened to other makes. For a driver who rapid charges often, the Model Y’s lower energy use per mile matters more than the Volvo’s higher peak.

Which is more practical?

The Model Y is the far more practical family car. Carwow quotes 854 litres of boot space, measured to the roof, and 2,118 litres with the rear seats folded. Auto Express gives the EX40 410 litres with the seats up and 1,400 litres folded, plus a 30-litre storage box under the bonnet that fits a charging cable.

The two seats-up figures are not measured the same way, but the folded figures show the size gap: the Tesla has about 700 litres more. The EX40 is the smaller car to park and has a more traditional cabin with physical buttons. The Model Y puts almost every control on its central touchscreen.

What about company car tax?

Both cars pay 4% benefit-in-kind in 2026/27, confirmed in HMRC’s manual. The list price decides the bill.

List priceAnnual BIK (4%)20% taxpayer per month40% taxpayer per month
Model Y (entry)£44,990£1,800£30£60
EX40 Core Extended Range£43,860£1,754£29£58

Method: list price × 4% × tax rate ÷ 12. The difference is about £2 a month for a higher-rate taxpayer. Our Tesla company car tax guide covers every Model Y and Model 3 version.

Both entry cars also sit under the £50,000 threshold for the expensive car supplement, which costs electric car owners an extra £440 a year for five years from the second year of tax. The EX40 Extended Range Ultra, from £52,860, would pay it. The Model Y Premium Long Range RWD, at £49,990, sits £10 under the line.

Which should you buy?

Buy the Tesla Model Y if:

  • You need a big boot for a family, a pushchair or a dog
  • You do a lot of public charging, where its efficiency saves the most money
  • You want full access to the Supercharger network

Buy the Volvo EX40 if:

  • You want the most range at the lowest list price
  • You prefer a smaller car with physical controls
  • You want to negotiate a dealer discount, which Tesla’s fixed online pricing does not allow

For most families, the Model Y’s space and lower running costs make it the stronger buy. The EX40 is the better pick for a couple or a single driver who values a compact size and a more conventional cabin. If you are still deciding between Teslas, read which Tesla to buy.

How we test and where our numbers come from

Range figures are official WLTP combined values taken from manufacturer UK specification pages, with real-world estimates drawn from independent comparative testing. Prices are UK list prices at the time of the latest update. Tax, grant and charging-scheme figures come from GOV.UK and HMRC publications. We re-check every guide when pricing, specification or policy changes. Last checked 1 November 2026. How we work out our own figures.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Tesla Model Y or Volvo EX40 better?

The Tesla Model Y is better for space and running costs, while the Volvo EX40 is better for buyers who want a smaller, more conventional premium SUV with a longer WLTP range at the entry price. The Model Y has more than double the EX40's boot space with the seats up (854 against 410 litres) and uses less electricity per mile on Carwow's claimed figures.

Which is cheaper, the Model Y or the EX40?

The Volvo EX40 is cheaper to buy, from £43,860 for the Core Extended Range against £44,990 for the entry Model Y on Carwow's November 2026 listings. Carwow also showed EX40 deals from £39,610. The Model Y is cheaper to run: about £505 per 10,000 miles to charge against £653 on our mixed home and rapid charging calculation.

Which has more range, the Model Y or the Volvo EX40?

The Volvo EX40 Core Extended Range has more range than the entry Model Y, at up to 356 miles WLTP against 314 miles. The Model Y Premium Long Range RWD, at £49,990, is rated at 383 miles and beats every EX40.

How much does it cost per mile to run a Model Y and an EX40?

On an 8p/kWh home off-peak rate, the Model Y costs about 1.8p a mile and the EX40 about 2.4p. At the 26.32p price cap rate the figures are 6.0p and 7.7p, and on public rapid chargers at 79p/kWh they are 18.0p and 23.2p. We divide the price per kWh by Carwow's lower claimed efficiency for each car: 4.4 miles per kWh for the Model Y and 3.4 for the EX40.

Do the Model Y and EX40 pay the expensive car supplement?

No, not in their entry versions, because both list below the £50,000 threshold that applies to electric cars from 1 April 2026. Pricier versions do: the EX40 Extended Range Ultra from £52,860 would pay the extra £440 a year, while the Model Y Premium Long Range RWD at £49,990 stays just under.

Which has the bigger boot, the Model Y or the EX40?

The Tesla Model Y has the bigger boot by a wide margin. Carwow quotes 854 litres measured to the roof and 2,118 litres with the seats folded, while Auto Express gives the EX40 410 litres with the seats up and 1,400 litres folded, plus a 30-litre front storage area.

Sources and further reading

EV Compared

The EV Compared editorial team tracks the UK electric vehicle market full time: new model launches, list prices, WLTP and real-world range, public charging tariffs and the tax rules that decide what an EV actually costs to run. Every guide is checked against manufacturer specifications and official GOV.UK figures, and updated whenever the numbers move.